Asheville Glass Center

October 13, 2011

The Phil Mechanic Studio is a quirky studio filled with interesting artists in the River Arts District here in Asheville. A few weeks ago Kari (Director of Craft Entrepreneurship) and I made a trip there to check it out and mingle with the “family” they have there– it sure feels like a family.  Every Wednesday they all get together and have a lunch-time potluck!

While enjoying my lunch, I met Alex Greenwood and Logan MacSporran of the Asheville Glass Center who told me about their studio on Roberts Street (across the street from Wedge Studios). They offer workshops for anyone to come in, visit their studios and make their very own cup or paperweight.

I’ve never done any work with glass, but I LOVE watching glass blowers. I’ve watched so many television shows, captivated by watching hot glass form into beautiful and functional art. Needless to say, I was very interested in this workshop… and there I was, a few days later making my own glass tumbler.

I met up with Alex and the newest member at The Asheville Glass Center, Kathryn to make my first attempt at glass blowing. They talked me through what the tools were used for and what the steps will be, then we got started:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Which all made…the final product!

The Asheville Glass Center is a fun studio with great energy. The workshop I did was just one of many they offer. If you are planning a visit to Asheville, or have an interest in glass blowing and want to give it a try, check out all of their workshops!

Thanks again to The Asheville Glass Center!

Find them:

Newsletter

Facebook

–Jamie

Research and Communications Assistant

Leave a Reply

