Craft Fair of the Southern Highlands

July 28, 2011

This Saturday I was able to visit the Craft Fair of the Southern Highlands.  This was my first opportunity to make it to this craft fair, and it was a great experience.  I love to see the work by artists in the area, and there were beautiful pieces of artwork I found simply inspiring.

I wasn’t able to take any photos at the fair, but I was able to meet a few artists and take information on those I liked the best or found interesting.

Ray Jones, a member of the HandMade in America Board of Directors makes beautiful wood boxes.  The boxes he has produced have clean lines and are interesting shapes.  His Omega series of boxes are breathtaking!

www.rayjoneswoodboxes.com

Matt Tommey is an Asheville basket weaver who specializes in using natural materials native to the region’s mountains.  He weaves baskets from Kudzu and various vines found in Western North Carolina.

www.matttommey.com

Mija is a husband and wife quilting duo from Marshall, Libby and Jim Mijanovich.  I found to be inspiring.  I love fiber arts and the idea of creating decorative wall art out of materials beyond painting and drawing. They are a family operation who take old shirts and repurpose their materials to quilted art.

www.mijafiberart.com

I hope you all have a great weekend, especially those attending the Bele Chere Festival in Asheville!

 

-Jamie, Research and Communications Assistant

Stay Connected!
HandMadeinAmerica.org
Twitter                             
Leave a Reply

